Questions About Goat Milk Yogurt

Why are there 7g of sugar in the plain yogurt?

The sugar listed is lactose that occurs naturally in the milk. We do not add sugar.

What are probiotics? How many probiotics are in a serving of your yogurt?

Probiotics literally means “life giving,” and our  yogurt contains live and active cultures, also referred to as “friendly bacteria”. For more information visit www.probiotics.org, a website devoted to probiotic research.

We selected each active probiotic strain for its unique and complementary role for flavor development and synergy. They are: BIFIDOBACTERIUM LACTIS, S. THERMOPHILUS, L. ACIDOPHILUS, L. DELBRUECKII SUBSP. LACTIS, L. DELBRUECKII SUBSP. BULGARICUS. Together, these five probiotic cultures are responsible for the terrific, signature “tang” of the products they’ve cultured and their smooth, creamy textures.

When testing our goat yogurt for probiotic amounts, we use newly made product as well as product at the end of its “shelf life.” We then average these numbers because batches and probiotic counts can vary.

Redwood Hill Farm yogurt, with five different probiotics, has 340.2 billion probiotics per 6oz cup (average)

Do you still sell goat milk?

As of September 14, 2012, we no longer sell our fresh bottled goat milk. Because goat milk production is seasonal, there are times of the year when we have less fresh milk than others. Coupled with the fact that our goat milk yogurt and kefir are very popular, we have decided to discontinue bottling our fresh milk. You may wish to enjoy our delicious Redwood Hill Farm Goat Milk Kefir in place of the milk; many people use our kefir on their cereal, over fruit, and in their smoothies. Thank you for your continued support!

Do your products contain lactose or casein?

Goat milk naturally contains less lactose than cow’s milk, but it is not lactose-free. Our goat milk yogurts and kefirs both contain about 2% lactose. Under our sister brand name, Green Valley Organics®, we produce lactose-free yogurt, kefir, and sour cream made with organic cow’s milk. Visit the website to learn more at Green Valley Lactose Free.

Casein in Goat Milk: Casein is a natural protein that is found in all milk.  Many people have difficulty with Casein especially the Alpha S1 casein found in cow milk and so are allergic to cow dairy. Studies have shown that goat milk is very low in Alpha S1 casein and primarily contains Alpha S2 casein.  That is why many of those allergic to cow dairy may be able to use goat milk products in their diets successfully.

Why is liquid sometimes on the top of my yogurt when I open it?

It is normal for a bit of liquid (whey) to separate from yogurt. It can occur when there has been pressure applied, the container has been on its side, or when the yogurt has undergone a temperature change. Whey contains many of the important vitamins and nutrients in the yogurt so for the full goat yogurt benefits, it may be delicately folded back in.

What is the difference between goat milk and cow milk?

Although cow milk and dairy products are popular in the United States and Western Europe where an abundance of alfalfa and supplementary grain feed are available, they are not so popular in the rest of the world. Fresh goat milk and fresh cow milk have comparable flavor and nutrient content, but goat milk is more digestible because the fat particles are smaller. It is not uncommon for people who have trouble with cow milk to successfully switch to goat milk.