• RHF-SECONDARY-ARTISAN-CHEESE

Questions About Goat Cheese

Is all feta cheese goat cheese?

No, not today, but well, sometimes.  Traditionally, feta was made with sheep milk, or a combination of sheep and goat milk, when the shepherds took their sheep or goats to the mountains for the summer pastures. Many people think they have tried goat cheese if they tried feta cheese, but today this isn’t necessarily the case.  In many locales, feta is still made with goat and sheep milk but in the U.S., most feta is made with cow milk.  We make our Redwood Hill Farm Goat Milk Feta cheese with 100% fresh goat milk.  See our website for many delicious ways to enjoy!  http://www.redwoodhill.com/recipes

Can you freeze goat cheese?

Yes, the chèvre, which is a fresh spreadable goat cheese, freezes very well.  Always allow it to thaw in the refrigerator, which can take up to 24 hours.

The French-style, rind-ripened goat cheeses can also be frozen, but when thawed do not showcase as well as prior to freezing. The nutrient content will remain the same. A good way to use these cheeses after freezing would be in cooking.

The traditional cheeses such as goat cheddar and our raw milk feta will last 6 months or more in their packaging, so there is no need for freezing.  If the packaging does get opened, freezing could then be an option, but when thawed, they will be drier and best used in cooking.

Is your goat cheese pasteurized?

All of our cheeses are made with pasteurized milk. We use the “Vat Pasteurization” method. This requires that the milk be heated to 145 degrees F for a minimum holding of 30 minutes and then immediately chilled. This is the lowest temperature for pasteurization allowable by law. By comparison, HTST or “High Temperature/Short Time” requires that the milk be heated to 162 degrees F for 17 seconds. HTST is the method used most frequently by creameries because of the shorter time. UHT or “Ultra High Temperature” requires heating the milk to 275 degrees F for one second and will render the product virtually sterile for long lasting time on the shelf. We prefer the “Vat Pasteurization” method for our goat milk dairy products and believe it is the best method for preserving the integrity of the milk.

Do your products contain lactose or casein?

Goat milk naturally contains less lactose than cow’s milk, but it is not lactose-free. Our goat milk yogurts and kefirs both contain about 2% lactose. Under our sister brand name, Green Valley Organics®, we produce lactose-free yogurt, kefir, and sour cream made with organic cow’s milk. Visit the website to learn more at Green Valley Lactose Free.

Casein in Goat Milk: Casein is a natural protein that is found in all milk.  Many people have difficulty with Casein especially the Alpha S1 casein found in cow milk and so are allergic to cow dairy. Studies have shown that goat milk is very low in Alpha S1 casein and primarily contains Alpha S2 casein.  That is why many of those allergic to cow dairy may be able to use goat milk products in their diets successfully.

 

Our Cheesemaker's Collection, L to R: Goat Milk Feta, Terra, California Crottin, Bucheret and Garlic Chive Chevre

Our Cheesemaker’s Collection, L to R: Goat Milk Feta, Terra, California Crottin, Bucheret and Garlic Chive Chèvre